Skip to content

River Above Asia and Oceania Ecclesial Network

The synodal journey of the Pulangiyēn youth: We are called to dream and act together

The Apu Palamguwan Cultural Education Center (APC), Balay Laudato Si’, and The River Above Asia Oceania Ecclesial Network (RAOEN) are launching the booklet The Synodal Journey of the Pulangiyēn Youth on 5 October.

The booklet is a simple celebration of the journey of the indigenous Pulangiyēn youth in Bendum, Bukidnon, Philippines at Balay Laudato Si’, a culture and ecology center in the heart of Mindanao, Philippines, as they shared their dreams and gathered to act together through three activities: art activities that depicted how they would give life to the Laudato Si’ Goals, discovering hope, love, and faith that form them in life along with personal trials and hardships, and reflections on their cultural context that lead to self-awareness and action.

This is also the contribution of the Pulangiyēn youth to the ongoing synodal process where their voices as indigenous youth can be listened to, and “learn from one another and create a bright resourcefulness that will enlighten minds, warm hearts, give strength to our hands.” (From synod.va)

The booklet shares this process of listening and dialogue with the indigenous youth on their synodal experiences amid the contemporary challenges they face as well as their desire to act with sincerity. The synodal journey as shared in the booklet is also a process of accompaniment of and with the Pulangiyēn youth where they freely expressed their feelings, frustrations, concerns, hopes, and dreams for their community and culture.

Joining the launch are Gera Jean Lipanda (an APC Grade 12 student in Bendum), Jason Menaling (Coordinator of the Forest, Farm, and Leadership in the Margins unit of the APC), and Karen Ampildon (Balay Laudato Si’ Coordinator). Pedro Walpole SJ (RAOEN Coordinator) will share some insights on the process with Sue Martin (Jesuit Conference of Asia Pacific) moderating the discussions.

The booklet launch will be held on 5 October 2022, Wednesday, 2-3 PM (Manila)/8-9 AM Rome/11:30 AM–12:30 PM New Delhi/5-6 PM Sydney/6-7 PM Suva/7-8 PM Auckland).

Please register here to join the booklet launch online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.